Home Improvements · Uncategorized

Dresser Drawer to Memorabilia Shelf

I rescued some old wooden drawers from the curb that were bound for the trash.  I had been trying to find a way to display some of the pieces we had picked up through our travels.  I knew I wanted to do some shelving, but I realized that these dresser drawers would be the perfect way to group my stuff together and give me the look I wanted.

Photo Aug 20, 1 54 40 PM
This is how it looks on my wall…it is straight, I just took the photo crooked on accident.
Photo Jun 08, 5 46 42 PM
Here is the before. Yes, I will be doing the other two as well.
Photo Jun 08, 7 13 20 PM
First, I sanded it. Then I stained the outside with a combination of walnut/mahogany mixed MinWax Stain. Then I painted the inside sides. I left the back blank for now.
Photo Jul 23, 11 22 27 AM
Then I took an old dictionary that was already falling apart and decided to rescue some of the pages and ModPodged them to the back. I laid everything out first to make sure it would look the way I wanted first. I looked for words that related to our vacations and lightly highlighted them.
Photo Jul 23, 11 23 05 AM
I used the LuminArte to highlight the words in the dictionary. I used a subtle color, so it wasn’t completely obvious. Yes, this photo is upside down and no, I don’t know how to fix it.

After getting all of the ‘base’ of the drawer done, I just took a board and added the shelves.

TIP:  Be sure and stain or paint the shelves BEFORE you attach them…otherwise it is a mess getting that done.  (I may or may not have had this happen to me….*grin)

I hope you enjoyed this project.  I hope to have some more projects that I will be sharing soon.

PLEASE leave a comment and let me know what you think?

4 thoughts on “Dresser Drawer to Memorabilia Shelf

  1. Looks great Klo–a nice place for your collection from your trip! A very creative way to recycle.I like your tip about the stain thing–live and learn! We always learn what not to do from our mistakes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

