Craft Room · Home Improvements

The Piano and Mouzart

I have been looking at and just loving old piano’s that have been converted to a bar.  I love the piano and I think it is fabulous that these beautiful old piano’s that are not longer functioning are having the workmanship rescued by turning it into something beautiful.

That being said, I have been watching for an old piano that is obviously not able to be saved for the music to turn into my computer desk.   I finally found one on Craigslist for basically free, but because I needed it delivered, I ended up getting it for $80.  (They only asked $60, but it was a beast to get into my basement, so I gave them an extra $20)

Here is the photo from the Craigslist listing.  I knew it was going to have spent time in someone’s garage, shed or even a barn, so I knew it was going to take a lot of cleaning up.

piano

Well, I got started by scraping away some of the parts of the wood that had probably been stained or something like that when it was made.  It could have been a shellac, but I just know that over the years, it was very easy to just scrap off with my Pazzles Mat Scraper.

Photo Mar 25, 1 27 21 PM     Photo Mar 25, 1 59 13 PM

Then I started removing pieces.  The right side of the keys were a mess.  They had obviously had some mice living there at some point.  I found an entire bed, but got it vacuumed out and just pulled the stuff out by hand.

Photo Mar 25, 6 48 20 PM.jpg   Photo Mar 25, 6 48 24 PM.jpg

I started to remove the keys from right to left and about 1/3 of the way through, I look to my left and there was a little mouse.   I admit, I swore under my breath, because I knew I was going to have to take care of the situation.  More on that later.

I finished removing the keys.  I threw away the ones from the right side where the mouse house was and put the ones from the left into a box for a future project.  (I have big plans…*grin)

I would take a break for an hour here and an hour there to do some work for my job.  Then I would go back to removing more pieces.

In the evening, as I turned on the Designer Chat for my job.  I was working on things with my computer and I started hearing piano noises.  I caught a little bit of it here after I saw him pop his head up to say hi.

Mouzart.jpg

We got a few photos of him before we went and got the humane traps from my daughter, so that we could deliver Mouzart to the country when we catch him.  I had hoped when I woke up this morning he would be joyfully waiting for me and ready for a car ride.  Unfortunately, he wasn’t.

Mouzart-1   Klo-0

I have since visited the hardware store and got some sticky traps.  My hope is that he will still find the humane traps, but if not, then I will still get him out of the house in other ways.  I may have lost the first battle, but I will win the war.

I’m not going to lie.  He is kind of cute, but it is also freaking me out a little.  Mice don’t scare me, but they scurry and that usually shoots my heart rate up pretty fast when I’m not ready for it, so I don’t like that part.  Plus, sitting here working in my studio is a little rough today, because I am on high alert.

Here are a series of the photos of the initial clean up and taking apart.  I will do a full blog on the actual process of creating the desk after I finish up here.   I got a good start, but there is more work ahead.  First, I need to conquer the smell. (I’m making progress.)

before_piano.jpgBefore I got started.

piano-clean

5 thoughts on “The Piano and Mouzart

  1. What an awesome project! Looking forward to seeing it completely done. I read recently that pianos are out of vogue right now so repurposing them is perfect!

    Like

  2. Hey Klo, we rescued a juke box from a bar years ago and the cigarette smell was overwhelming. We were told to put fresh coffee grounds in it. Amazing!! it took a few weeks before we could vacuum out the grounds, but the smell was gone. I realize your smell is Mouzart so maybe spraying the inside with white vinegar a few times may help.

    Can’t wait for more Mouzart updates 😀 and the project. What a great idea.

    Like

  3. For the mouse smell, you might try stuffing the cabinet of the piano with wadded up newspaper and then wrapping the enire piano in plastic. That works great on friges/freezers if you have a power loss long enough to spoil its contents (like meat). About the “humane” mouse trap… How about sparing those of us who live in the country, and therefore have an abundance of mice in spring and fall without our city dwellers help, by getting the old-fashioned traps and sending them on to their maker 🙂 And, one last thought. I don’t know what you plan to do with the parts like hammers, ivories, and ebonies, etc. But, you might see if any piano repairman is interested in them for having on hand, as replacement parts can be difficult to come by. I am interested in seeing your final project. (PS I have a square grand that is to be coming home this week after being gone way too long. The artistry and woods in those old pianos is irreplaceable! Enjoy 🙂

    Like

    1. I got rid of the mouse smell using distilled vinegar and baking soda. I sprayed the area, wiped it up really well a few times, then sprayed it another time and put a whole box of baking soda down and let it sit for about 48 hours and really absorb everything. There is no smell at all, so I’m very happy about that. The humane trap didn’t work…but if it had, it would have gone to a field, where hawks are known to hunt, then the circle of life would have continued…I lived in the country most of my life and someone bringing a mouse wouldn’t have made much of a difference once the farmers were in the fields. So if it made my daughter feel better, it was worth trying for her. Some of the parts were completely destroyed, but I am reusing some of the stuff to add them back to the look of the piano. I have crafty plans for some of. I’m so happy you are getting your grand piano back soon. I love those. I’m so happy I’m working on this one and saving it from the wood pile.

      Like

Leave a Reply

