Home Improvements

Walls Away

So this morning we woke up to a house that had all of its walls. At about 4:00pm, we started tearing down the walls between the kitchen/dining area and the living room.

It is “kind of” dirty and messy at the moment, but here is the start. I will be giving updates as we get things ‘reassembled’ and remodeled to the way we want.

Here are some pictures of the walls coming down.  Jeff and I had fun doing it and it didn’t take as long as we thought it would.  It is so open and amazing.

Photo Mar 08, 4 38 56 PMPhoto Mar 08, 6 17 02 PMPhoto Mar 08, 6 17 07 PM

3 thoughts on “Walls Away

  1. I will be watching your progress with great interest! I want to do the same thing in my house — knock out the wall between the kitchen and living room! When I mentioned the idea to my husband, he thought I was crazy. Can’t wait to see more pictures as you continue with your project.

    Like

    1. I’m going to be putting paint samples on the walls today, so I can work on my first wall. The man that does our drywall finishing (I’m not a good finisher, so I pay to have that done, so it looks good…*grin) had emergency surgery the day we pulled our wall down, so I’m going to start working on other parts that I can until he can get back. While you are working on ‘convincing’ your husband, be sure and get a structural engineer out and find out if the walls are load bearing or not. Ours were not, so it was a very simple removal.

      Like

Leave a Reply

